The Year of Billy Miller

#ad
Greenwillow Books #ad - Forgoing the overdramatic or zany, it shows the substance, warmth and adaptability of beautifully common family love. When billy miller has a mishap at the statue of the Jolly Green Giant at the end of summer vacation, he ends up with a big lump on his head. Newbery honor author and caldecott medalist kevin Henkes delivers a short, a school poetry slam, laugh-out-loud-funny school and family story that features a diorama homework assignment, cancelled sleepovers, satisfying, and epic sibling temper tantrums.

. This is a perfect short novel for the early elementary grades. A 2014 newbery honor booka new york times bestselleraward-winning, sibling rivalry, nationally bestselling author Kevin Henkes introduces second-grader Billy Miller in this fast-paced and funny story about friendship, and elementary school.

The Year of Billy Miller #ad - What a way to start second grade, how to appreciate his little sister, with a lump on your head! As the year goes by, Billy figures out how to navigate elementary school, though, and how to be a more grown up and responsible member of the family and a help to his busy working mom and stay-at-home dad.

Greenwillow Books. The year of billy miller includes black-and-white art by Kevin Henkes and is perfect for fans of the Ramona books; Frindle, by Andrew Clements; and the Clementine series. The new york times declared: "Henkes's delightful story is restrained and vivid.

#ad



Gooney Bird Greene

#ad
HMH Books for Young Readers #ad - From the moment gooney bird greene arrives at Watertower Elementary School, her fellow second-graders are intrigued by her unique sense of style and her unusual lunches. And that suits gooney bird just fine, because, as it turns out, she has quite a few interesting and "absolutely true" stories to tell.

Through gooney bird and her tales, the acclaimed author Lois Lowry introduces young readers to the elements of storytelling. This book will encourage the storyteller in everyone. So when story time arrives, the choice is unanimous: they want to hear about Gooney Bird Greene. Harcourt Brace and Company.

#ad



Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures

#ad
Candlewick #ad - Available in a digest paperback edition! The beloved 2014 Newbery Medal winner by former National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature Kate DiCamillo. Holy unanticipated occurrences! from #1 new york times best-selling author Kate DiCamillo comes a laugh-out-loud story filled with eccentric, endearing characters — a novel interspersed with comic-style graphic sequences and full-page illustrations, all rendered in black and white by K.

G. Flora and ulysses paperback book - Pack of 1. Campbell. Harcourt Brace and Company.

#ad



The Trouble with Chickens: A J.J. Tully Mystery

#ad
Balzer + Bray #ad - Tully is a former search-and-rescue dog who is trying to enjoy his retirement after years of performing daring missions saving lives. Begins to track down clues. Not smelling the evidence that's right in front of him? Harcourt Brace and Company. From the bestselling, award-winning author-illustrator team of Doreen Cronin and Kevin Cornell comes the first book in a heavily illustrated, hilarious chapter book series about the adventures of a dog detective.

Balzer Bray Harperteen. Flora and ulysses paperback book - Pack of 1. Is vince the funnel hiding something? Are there dark forces at work—or is J. J. Krosoczka's Lunch Lady series. J. J. Perfect for fans of Sara Pennypacker's Clementine series and Jarrett J. So he's not terribly impressed when two chicks named Dirt and Sugar who look like popcorn on legs and their chicken mom show up demanding his help to find their missing siblings.

The Trouble with Chickens: A J.J. Tully Mystery #ad - Driven by the promise of a cheeseburger, J. J.

#ad



Sky High: George Ferris's Big Wheel Step into Reading

#ad
Random House Books for Young Readers #ad - They said it would never work. Harcourt Brace and Company. Balzer Bray Harperteen. The 1893 world’s fair organizers wanted something big to draw people to Chicago. George ferris, an american engineer, had the idea for an observation wheel that passengers could ride on. This fascinating step 3 History Reader describes the invention of the first Ferris wheel—an engineering marvel.

But it was a huge success, with thirty-six cars that could hold over 2, 100 riders! That’s some big wheel! Ferris wheel lovers can thank George Ferris for never giving up his dream. Step 3 readers feature engaging characters in easy-to-follow plots about popular topics—for children who are ready to read on their own.

Sky High: George Ferris's Big Wheel Step into Reading #ad - People laughed at his idea. Something that would rival the Eiffel Tower. Random house Books for Young Readers. Flora and ulysses paperback book - Pack of 1.

#ad



Dory Fantasmagory

#ad
Puffin Books #ad - And when they really need her, daring Dory will prove her bravery, and finally get exactly what she has been looking for. With plenty of pictures bursting with charm and character, this hilarious book about an irresistible rascal is the new must-read for the chapter book set. Harcourt Brace and Company. Jones and ivy & bean! here comes a lovably energetic little sister with a BIG personality—and an imagination to match!As the youngest in her family, Dory really wants attention, and more than anything she wants her brother and sister to play with her.

Puffin Books. Balzer Bray Harperteen. But she’s too much of a baby for them, so she’s left to her own devices—including her wild imagination and untiring energy. Her siblings may roll their eyes at her childish games, escaping from prison aka time-out, but Dory has lots of things to do: outsmarting the monsters all over the house, and exacting revenge on her sister’s favorite doll.

Dory Fantasmagory #ad - . Flora and ulysses paperback book - Pack of 1. Random house Books for Young Readers. Move over, Junie B.

#ad



8 Class Pets + 1 Squirrel ÷ 1 Dog = Chaos Twitch the Squirrel

#ad
Holiday House #ad - Random house Books for Young Readers. And maybe a paw, and a wing, a fin, too. With short, funny chapters, young readers will race through this novel to find out what the pets do next. Flora and ulysses paperback book - Pack of 1. Harcourt Brace and Company. Puffin Books. Running into the school to escape a hungry owl was easy.

. Can the classroom pets—including sweetie the library rat, and the first graders' green eggs and Hamster—help Twitch get back to his cozy home in the trees?   Each chapter is told in the voice of a different animal as the squirrel works his way through the school, a snake named Angel, visiting each classroom and trying to stay one step ahead of the principal's menacing dog, Cuddles.

8 Class Pets + 1 Squirrel ÷ 1 Dog = Chaos Twitch the Squirrel #ad - . Balzer Bray Harperteen. The different perspectives make this a perfect introduction to narrative point-of-view—and an extra-funny read-aloud. Lively black and white illustrations add to the humor, depicting Twitch's mad dash through the school and the chaos created by a band of class pets on the loose. But with the door locked and an angry dog chasing him, how will Twitch the squirrel get back out?   He'll need a hand, of course.

For more of twitch's adventures, check out Squirrel in the House and Squirrel in the Museum.

#ad



The Chocolate Touch

#ad
HarperCollins #ad - Balzer Bray Harperteen. Flora and ulysses paperback book - Pack of 1. In this zany twist on the legend of king midas and his golden touch, a boy acquires a magical gift that turns everything his lips touch into chocolate!Can you ever have too much of your favorite food? John Midas is about to find out….

The chocolate touch has remained a favorite for millions of kids, teachers, and parents for several generations. It's an enjoyable story that pulls in even reluctant readers. Harcourt Brace and Company. 9780688161330 Random house Books for Young Readers. Puffin Books.

#ad



Jessica

#ad
Greenwillow Books #ad - Her parents hoped Ruthie would find a friend at school who would replace Jessica. 9780688161330 Random house Books for Young Readers. Balzer Bray Harperteen. Nobody could see Jessica -- except Ruthie. When it came time for Ruthie to go to school, Jessica went with her. She ate with ruthie, played with Ruthie, and was sorry when Ruthie was bad.

There is no jessica, " said Ruthie's parents. But of course there was. Greenwillow Books. They were in for a happy surprise! Harcourt Brace and Company. Puffin Books. Flora and ulysses paperback book - Pack of 1.

#ad



Lulu and the Brontosaurus The Lulu Series

#ad
Atheneum Books for Young Readers #ad - B completely agrees with lulu that having a pet would be a wonderful thing, and Lulu thinks she’s gotten her birthday wish at last. Random house Books for Young Readers. B is much too tall to bonk on the head with her suitcase, or smushing her pickle sandwich? Beloved children’s author Judith Viorst and Caldecott-winning illustrator Lane Smith offer a fresh and funny tale with several surprise endings! Harcourt Brace and Company.

. 9780688161330 Puffin Books. Now in paperback, i'm gonna, an illustrated chapter book from industry legends judith viorst and Lane Smith!I’m gonna, get a bronto-bronto-bronto-bronto-saurus for a pet!Lulu is so accustomed to getting what she wants that when her parents deny her birthday request for a brontosaurus, gonna, I'm gonna, she throws a four-day temper tantrum and then storms off into the forest in search of the dinosaur she clearly deserves.

Lulu and the Brontosaurus The Lulu Series #ad - Atheneum Books for Young Readers. Lulu isn’t particularly impressed with the snake, long-necked, but then she finds him—a beautiful, tiger, and bear she encounters, graceful brontosaurus. B does not respond well to those, or using force Mr. Flora and ulysses paperback book - Pack of 1. Brontosaurus thinks that she would make an ideal pet for him! How will Lulu ever get out of this sticky situation without throwing a fit Mr.

Greenwillow Books.

#ad



A Weekend with Wendell

#ad
Greenwillow Books #ad - Wendell shone his flashlight in Sophie's eyes when she tried to sleep. Harcourt Brace and Company. Balzer Bray Harperteen. 9780688161330 Wendell was spending the weekend at Sophie's house. Playing house, wendell was the mother, the father, and the children; Sophie was the dog. Puffin Books. Playing bakery, wendell was the baker; Sophie got to be the sweet roll.

But when he gave her a new hairdo with shaving cream, it was the last straw, and Sophie made up a game that left Wendell speechless for a time -- and won the day for friendship. Atheneum Books for Young Readers. Greenwillow Books. Random house Books for Young Readers. Flora and ulysses paperback book - Pack of 1.

#ad